Introductions and Welcome

Posted: 15 February 2017 10:16 AM
Rank
Welcome to this site and please take a moment to introduce yourself.

I am a 60 something nurse, wife of more than 40 years, mother to 2 daughters and grandmother to 4. Things that have given me great joy in my life are music (I am a professionally trained soprano and play several instruments), sewing (I have made most of my children's clothing as well as my own and had a sideline making bridal wear for friends and friends of friends) and travel.
I was diagnosed with "a mild form" of Relapsing Remitting MS in 1994 after 19 years of symptoms that came and went but was never put on medication at the time because I was still walking unaided after all that time. (Note: That was long before we knew that early treatment was imperative to better outcomes)

Seven years later, I was dependent on 2 canes and in a scooter. I switched Neurologists and got my first steroids (which actually helped!) and started on Avonex. For nearly 2 years I was on monthly steroids and Avonex but seemed to be worsening after about a year on that regimen so was switched to the higher dose of Rebif and saw a lot of peeling back of symptoms. I began to return to part time work as a consultant and life was good.